Understanding ESA Dog Requirements

Understanding ESA Dog Requirements

Emotional Support Animals are pets that offer companionship and unconditional affection to emotionally or mentally disabled individuals. According to the National Institute of National Health, 1 in every 4 American citizens experience some emotional disability, and animals are known to help minimize the symptoms of those disorders significantly.

Even though ESAs are not mandated by the law to receive training in certain aspects, unlike service dogs, they are expected to be well-behaved so that they do not become a hazard for people around them. Their primary purpose is to provide companionship and emotional stability. Primarily, emotional support animals can assist with conditions such as anxiety, depression, fears, panic attacks, mood disorders, and other various psychological and emotional conditions.

ESA Dog Requirements

  1. airline travel for petsThere are no size or breed restrictions when it comes to ESA dog registration. They can come in a variety of shapes and sizes, and airlines are authorized by law to allow emotional support to accompany to their seat.
  2. Your ESA dog is not required to wear a vest or any harness. However, for your convenience, it is recommended that you use identifying items, harnesses, leashes, and patches to minimize the hassle significantly.
  3. To qualify for an emotional support dog, you will need a letter from a reputable mental health professional verifying that the dog brings you therapeutic benefits and minimizes your symptoms of the mental disability. This ESA is the main requirement that will help you qualify for an emotional support dog. Make sure to renew your ESA letter after every 12 months to maintain its validity.

List of Disabilities

An emotional support dog can help you with many emotional and emotional conditions. Here are some of the emotional conditions individuals may have that an emotional support dog can help them deal with:

  1. Social Anxiety Disorder
  2. Phobias and fears
  3. Anxiety
  4. Crippling depression
  5. Postpartum depression
  6. Impulse-Control Disorders
  7. Panic Disorder
  8. General Anxiety Disorder
  9. Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
  10. Bipolar Disorder
  11. PTSD- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
  12. Seasonal Affective Disorder
  13. Separation anxiety
  14. Eating Disorders
  15. Dissociative Disorders
  16. Mood Disorders
  17. Neurodevelopmental Disorders
  18. Psychotic Disorders
  19. Personality Disorders
  20. Somatoform Disorders
  21. Sleep disorders
  22. Gender and sexual Identity Disorders  
  23. Substance-Related Disorders

Other Things You Should Know When Registering Your Dog as an ESA

  1. The Air Carrier Access Act (ACAA) and Fair Housing Amendments Act (FHAA) protect ESAs.
  2. Registering your dog as an ESA will not grant you access to all public places, unlike in the case of service animals. However, some places may allow dogs of certain breeds or sizes so make sure to inquire about their policies beforehand.
  3. Airlines will not charge you an extra fee for your ESA dog, nor will they be in a position to force your pet in a carrier. Instead, they will have to put him on a leash to guarantee other’s safety. Your dog can also sit on your lap during the travel.
  4. Landlords cannot charge you pet fees or ask for any deposits for your emotional support dog. Additionally, they cannot ask you to train your dog, nor they can inquire you regarding the degree of your disability. However, property managers can very well ask you for an evidence confirming your emotional disability.